Lisa & Me

This is me with Lisa. She was the best boss I ever had at Buick. I was an extra man back then in the 90’s. I knew every job in the materials department and that was the problem. Some higher ups in our group had some old scores to settle with me so I was pretty open to be jerked around. When anybody needed a body to fill a job they always called for me first and Lisa was wise to this. She wanted me in my own department covering anything she needed done. What she would do is when the call’s went out over the radio for help she would ignore them because she knew the game. She would say she hadn’t checked all her manpower yet and would get back to them later, hopefully after they had found another to fill the job. She could not always protect me but she did a pretty good job. She told me when she quit G.M. that she could no longer treat people the way they were demanding her to do, so she left for Florida and got married. There was no shortage of regular workers becoming supervisors. The older ones were usually the best because they knew how things really worked “you don’t shit where you eat”. The ones promoted from my generation were mostly spoiled baby boomers whose egos got in the way (BIG HEAD) and thought they were being placed in charge because they were better qualified ( “it’s about time my superior intelligence was noticed” ) , when in reality upper management used them as stool pigeons to just settle “old scores”. What’s sad is they picked on the least liked employees because they were more easily turned. One general foreman tried this with me in the early 90’s but I saw through the smoke and mirrors. I may not have been well liked by some but I could never be drawn to the “Dark Side”. I’m glad I never spent time in prison or a concentration camp with these turncoat-backstabbers. There were a few who knew how to act decent but most just thought they were God’s gift to General Motors, when in fact they were nothing more than lost little boys looking for approval from their mothers, “Hey mom look at me!” We actually had one guy who was our old drinking and smoking partner (S— F—-) “you know who you are” who literally drew up a list with time and places on where to catch fellow workers doing the same things he had done all his life. The reason we knew this fact was when they “turn” a person sometimes they become a double agent. Now in my opinion that’s as low as you can get. Just imagine if we had used all of our collected energies on just building Buick’s instead of always playing these foolish games. If upper management and workers had spent just a little more time doing there real jobs instead of settling old scores our children would still be building Buick’s in Flint.
Leave a Reply

